Monday’s listening

An unusual day; I’ve been working from home due to mild ill-health, so my listening has been skewed from what it would normally be, but how one responds to changes in routine, and how that affects listening, is just as much a part of this project as documenting what we do typically.

Anyway, my listening…

Nicolas Jaar – Space Is Only Noise
A full play of this album starting at 9:20am, in our backroom / office, where I was working. Volume was low so I could fiddle with bilingual websites. I got the album last Friday, and have played it maybe 8 times since (I was off work on Friday and house-bound pretty much over the weekend).

Stars Of The Lid – The Tired Sound Of
Listened to both CDs of this long, beatific, vatic ambient record while I worked, straight after Nicolas Jaar finished. Between discs, however, I listened to…

Adam & Joe
…the BBC iPlayer stream of their Saturday morning show; or, rather, 10 minutes of it – just enough to hear Mr Brightside by The Killers, and A&J’s version of Friday by Rebecca Black. I’d have laughed, it laughing didn’t threaten to rupture something. My wife emailed me the link and insisted I listen, without stating why.

Miles Davis – In A Silent Way
More listening while working. Well, I say listening. More “background music” while paying attention to something else. I find it incredible hard to concentrate on anything if playing music with prominent vocals / lyrics. So I tend to go for ambient / jazz / instrumental stuff.

Dave Brubeck – Time Out
Again, still while working. I always confuse the title of the LP (this) with the title of the single (Take Five).

The Beta Band – Push It Out
The opening song from their third EP, in the livingroom / kitchen, won the “big” hi-fi, while washing-up after my lunch. I overestimate how long it would take to wash-up; I’d been hoping to listen to the entire Los Amigos Del Beta Bandidos EP. This is my favourite Beta Band song.

Radiohead – The King Of Limbs
Still working, but less concentration required while I replied to emails and fiddled with images, rather than built webpages and edited copy, so Thom’s enunciation wasn’t enough to distract.

Panda Bear – Tomboy
The NPR stream, at circa 4pm, when I’d clocked-off from working at home (well, I am under the weather, and have a little flexitime); this listen, because it was via the iMac, was done via a pair of headphone, rather than speakers.

KFC advert
Someone linked me to a youtube of the new KFC advert, which is soundtracked by an odd, “soulful”, female-voice-and-piano based cover of One Big Family by Embrace, a tune I love.
Edit. I gather this cover is by Paloma Faith. I have no idea if it’s available to download from anywhere, but I’ll let you know if I find out.
Re-edit. I gather Paloma Faith has denied that she did the cover. MYSTERY.

Incidental musics
We went to the cinema to see Source Code this evening, and caught one Foo Fighters song and half an unidentified dance-pop single on the local radio station played before the adverts and trailers kicked in.

Panda Bear – Tomboy
Another listen, whilst I wrote this post…

I was with my wife for the incidental music at the cinema (and about 20 other people); for everything else I was home alone…

3 responses to “Monday’s listening

  1. I know it’s a bit surplus for the project, but I’d love to know whether Source Code was any good.

  2. I fully intend to blog it! The question is when; this “project” has taken way more admin time than anticipated.

  3. Pingback: The Killers » Monday's listening | Sick Mouthy

Leave a Reply

