Monday’s listening

So, day one of the music diary. What have I listened to?

Beastie Boys – Hot Sauce Committee Part 2
I wrote about this earlier, so shan’t say much more.

Radiohead – Fake Plastic Trees
The Clientele – The Violet Hour
The Verve – A Northern Soul
Blur – Badhead
Boards of Canada – Dayvan Cowboy

On my way to HMV to buy the MBV remasters I played some music via my iPhone during the walk. There’s a mammoth playlist on there called ‘I need this song on my iPhone’, which has no criteria beyond containing songs I like – several hundred of them. I set it to play completely randomly, and was gifted with three slices of mid-90s Britpop (of the more maudlin variety), plus The Clientele’s wistful, dreamy retro-pop, and BoC’s epic, wistful techno.

Beastie Boys – Sabotage, Fight For Your Right To Party
These two songs played over the PA in HMV whilst I was shopping. I looked to see if thy had The Mix Up, Beastie Boys’ instrumental album from 2007, but they didn’t, so I got the new Richard Hawley instead.

My Bloody Valentine – Loveless (remaster – CD2 original ½ inch analogue tape)
When I got home I stuck this on – I’ve been waiting about 5 years for these remasters, watching the date get pushed back every few months on various retail websites. I assumed they’d never actually exist… The version done from the original ½ inch analogue tape was the one I most wanted to hear. I haven’t listened to Loveless in a while, and I certainly wasn’t A-B’ing the original CD here. So without listening really hard, well… it felt groovier, somehow, as if there was a little more bottom end, a little more soundstage, a little more ease to decipher the layering and surf along the internal rhythms of the different guitar tracks. Emma walked in, said “this is the remaster? It definitely sounds different” straight away, even while I wasn’t entirely sure! I think that secretly she has better ears than me, more intuitive.

Richard Hawley – Standing at the Sky’s Edge
Afterwards I played this, and enjoyed it a lot; I’ve really liked the single, which has been getting airplay on 6music. I’ll be listening to this a lot more.

My Bloody Valentine – EPs 1988-1991 (disc 1)
You Made Me Realise onwards. Sounded terrific.

Various songs by The Smiths, The Cure, The Specials, Cliff Richard, The Pogues, Samantha Fox, Shakin’ Stevens, Rick Astley, Tracy Chapman, etc etc, featured on This Is England 88
We watched This Is England 88 this afternoon, having received the DVD from Lovefilm; we’d missed it at Christmas time for some reason – I think just party-season busyness. Plenty of great ‘period’ songs on the soundtrack. And Rick Astley.

Boards of Canada – In A Beautiful Place Out In The Country
Autechre – Amber

These were both reading-soundtracks, inspired partly by Dayvan Cowboy this morning, and partly by a lot of Autechre discussion on ILM lately.

#musicdiary2012

Leave a Reply

